20/20

Another decade almost done…..Twenty-10s was when I

  • Found my tribe – amazing, wonderful people who are there with me, despite our physical distances (♥♥♥)
  • Did not one but 2 international moves and a cross-country move (WHEW!)
  • Had a long-distance relationship with Guru for 9 months (GAH!)
  • Graduated with my 2nd Masters from The Heller School for Social Policy and Management
  • Traveled a lot within India, the US, and NZ
  • Adopted not one but 2 furbabies, both coincidentally named after Stallone movies
  • Became an aunt to a wonderful boy
  • Learned knitting and crocheting
  • Got ink’d thrice (more to come……)
  • Finally felt like I became an adult 😀

20-Tens was also when I

  • Went through severe lows
    • My health just kept hitting rock bottom
    • Felt that I failed as a parent, wife, daughter and blamed myself for my illness
    • Lost my baby, Rocky
    • Experienced severe depression and reached my breaking point
    • My social life was mostly comprised of doctor’s appointments
  • Learnt and still learning how to be functional while being actively sick
    • Learned about cognitive behavioral therapy and the art of being kind and compassionate to myself
    • Learned about mindfulness and self-compassion
    • Learned that I don’t have to do everything
    • Learned (somewhat!) to say no and to prioritize
    • Learned how to live without regular, mind-numbing, behavior-altering meds
    • Learned knitting and crocheting as coping mechanisms for pain
    • Learned to take one thing/one task/one day at a time
    • Learned that ALL my illnesses are only a part of me and that they do not define me
    • Learned that it is ok to have bad days and it is ok to cry, feel down/angry/frustrated
    • Learned that despite all my illnesses and limitations, I am enough
    • And finally, I learned that no matter what I do, I will always be sick. Acceptance goes a LOOOOONNNG way

The Twenty-Tens for me was a decade of self-growth and self-realization, despite all the pain (literally and metaphorically).  I really don’t have any expectations for the 20s except to say Bring It On!

Happy New Year and Here’s to Another Decade!!

No photo description available.
Image source: https://www.facebook.com/ProjectHEAL/photos/a.197207903633981/1895976857090402/?type=3&theater

Leave a comment