What Is A Flare?

A great post from Periwinkle Pursuits on what a FM flare is.

Last week, I mentioned that I was flaring and I thought it might be helpful to explain what a flare is, for the readers who don’t know. A fibromyalgia flare is described as an increase in pain, fatigue and other symptoms, brought on by stress, illness or some other trigger. 

Pain scales are designed to help patient and doctor get on the same page and can also be useful when trying to explain things to your family and friends. This is the scale given to me by my Rheumatologist. It is important to note that each fibromyalgia patient presents differently. My normal and flare pain levels may not be the same as someone else’s.

painscale

On a normal, non-flaring day, I am usually somewhere around a 3. Certain parts of my body hurt, but is not enough pain to stop me from doing things, as long as I have some time in the…

View original post 450 more words

Leave a Reply

