Fleeting Snippets !

Some random flashes here and there…….memories that I didn’t know existed in my subconscious mind, that I didn’t even think was possible for me to remember as I was just just 2.5 to 3 years old 🙂

Kamala garden schoolWhat was the trigger, you ask. I took a different route to work due to some diversion or other and passed by a Kindergarten school, not like the franchisee schools that you see today, advertising and whatnot but the old style nursery school – like a school that I went, many lifetimes ago.

Parents were waiting with their young kids and the sounds and smells seemed very familiar. Images of a statue of a boy and girl in school uniform with their bag, the sweet smell of milk and biscuits, me sitting in a tonka outside the classroom,hearing my nickname being called and peeking out of the tonka to see my paati, my dearest namesake Ramalakshmi (yup, that is one of my names) waiting for me………flashed through my mind.

When i got home that day, I called my mom to find out what it was all about.  When I was around 2.5 years old, my parents wanted me to go to the neighborhood nursery school. Apparently, my grandma, felt that it was too soon for me to start school etc etc but my mom wanted to give it a try as she felt that it would give my grandparents a much needed respite in their busy day. So amidst all fanfare, I was enrolled there and the whole family, i.e. my parents, my grandparents, my athai and my periappa came to witness the historical moment 😀

But apparently, I hated it there and marched out of the class (I was stubborn even back then) and got into the tonka, which was the older version of a school bus and dozed off. When my paati came to pick me up just after an hour and a half, she was told that I was outside and I had vehemently refused to go back inside the class. Instead I got into the tonka and declared that I will stay there until my paati arrived. And that brought an end to my really really short stint at nursery school.

I have always thought that we cannot remember things from when we were really young, but this memory, however fleeting disproved it all. It is not a lot…….but it is all I have,for now! But maybe tomorrow, another one will surface, the songs that she used to sing, the time that we spent, the scent of her hair, her kisses. Until then, I will cherish this and hold this memory close, really close to my heart cos that’s where everything that’s important to me is 🙂

The heart’s memory eliminates the bad and magnifies the good; and thanks to this artifice we manage to endure the burdens of the past ~ Gabriel Garcia Marquez (http://imgarcade.com/1/bad-memories-quotes/)

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Raji Sriram says:

    Very well written, Lakshmi, this took me back to my memorable, fun-filled childhood days with my beloved Lakshmi Patti 🙂

  2. Me says:

    I have a similar story almost ctrl+c ctrl+v. My goal as a parent is to create memories for my son that he could remember. The little things that could take him back in time.

Leave a Reply

