Walk with me……

3 years since I got ink’d….a year where my health was plummeting faster than stocks do, a year where pain took over my life even though I have been living with FM for more than 9 years, maybe even longer. I took some time off to understand more about FM, learnt new (read: SLOWER) ways to do old things and set out to accomplish new tasks. Yes, there were some rough patches when I had to deal with insensitive people but I am forever thankful for my lovely friends, my  family and my boys 🙂 I am also meditating and exercising regularly. I focus more on the what-now rather than obsessing over the what-has-been or the what’-gonna-be. I agree that this post mentions the past years but I like to think of it as lessons learned 🙂 I  feel light and calm….calmer than I have ever been, and I am at peace with where I am. And for the last 3 months, I have been completely MED FREE. No meds whatsoever (Also read: Blindside(d) – my struggles with prescription drugs, specifically cymbalta).

Is the pain still there? You bet…..it is so intense, I can actually feel it seeping through my pores. But this time, I am in control of my pain and not the other way around. And without no meds, I not only have firm control over the reins of the pain horse :P, I am also not under the influence of any prescription meds.  It does not define me. I do what I can and give it my 100%…..yes I am in pain ALL the time but hey, I am here, aren’t I……Everyday is a chance to grow, to learn, to heal,….and to kick FM in its rear 😀 I read somewhere that “when life knocks you down, you roll over and look at the stars” (unknown) and that is what I am doing these days.

Its Fibromyalgia Awareness Day on May 12 and it is an invisible illness. Please do your bit in raising awareness. Like I always say, “just cos someone doesn’t look sick doesn’t mean they are not. Its just that they choose to move on with a smile.”

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. ~ Robert Frost

Happy Fibromyalgia Awareness Day!

Featured image and poster from http://www.fibromyalgiaawareness.com/

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anuradha says:

    How did I miss this before? Take care dear and let’s kick pain.

Leave a Reply

