A man…a father like no other!

What is it about dads? why are they so special? Is it b’cos he is your first friend or that he made us feel like princes or princesses? Is it b’cos he is always there when we need him or that he goes out of his way to make sure that we have everything we need? Maybe b’cos he was your dad and also your mom when it came to it…. mine definitely was- தந்தையும் தாயுமானவனுமாய்! He was my hero, my confidant during my teens. He is my role model and if I am half the person I am with respect to my integrity, ethics, character, it is b’cos of him. He never told me how to go about things, he lived by example and let us watch and learn.
My mom always used to always say that if she needed to get anything done, all she had to do was mention my name and it would be done.
Setting: jewellery store.
அம்மா: ராஜா, இந்த குங்கும சிமிழ் வாங்கலாம்
அப்பா: இப்போ எதுக்குடி, அப்பறமா பாத்துக்கலாம்
கடைக்காரர்: சார், உங்க பொண்ணு கல்யாணம் ஆன அப்பறம் மொதல் தடவை வீட்டுக்கு வரும் போது கொடுக்கலாம்
அப்பா: ஒகே!
Mom: Let’s get this nice kumkuma chimizh (a small container to hold kumkum)
Dad: There’s no need for this now, let’s get this later
Jeweller: Sir, it will be a nice gift for you daughter when she visits you for the first time after getting married.
Dad: Sure, let’s get it.
 My mom still recollects this story to prove the fact that when it came to me, my dad’s love was (and is) without reason.

Fast forward 10 years and now i have my very own தாயுமானவன், Guru and the way he
is with Vidyuth and Vishruth always reminds me of the way my dad was with us.
I am a better mom cos of the two great dad’s in my life – my dad and my husband….they make me want to be a better person.
“A good father is one of the most unsung, unpraised, unnoticed, and yet one of the most valuable assets in our society.” ~ Billy Graham
Happy Father’s Day!
5 Comments Add yours

  1. ratsindear says:

    Hey Lux …nice post..will be celebrating Ram’s 1st fathers day …wonder what molaga and I will be doing..
    A request from me though…it will be so awesome if you can recollect some old stories and write some posts exclusively on Raja pa, Kala and ofcorz my hubby dearest :)…I have heard about your college days, your life as a mum, kids, Guru and small tidbits of your family here and there, but would love to see more pages on your childhood days..

  2. kalaraja says:

    hi laks papputtu, this will be most intereting gift for a father’s day. I gave him the title “தாயுமானவன்” in recognition of the love and care showered on me. But later he went on to play “தாயுமானவன்” for his grandsons too. It is still green in my memory the way in which he welcomed home ….the 2 day’s old baby Vidyuth from the Washington Hospital, Fremont. When me, Guru, you arrived at the door step, Raja took aarathi to us, mild nadhaswaram was playing at the background, complete lunch was ready with payasam. Very thoughtful gesture. I would love to quote many more touching incidents, but only one at a time.

Leave a Reply

