Must have done something right!

I suppose it could be considered luck…….but i am pretty sure that we must have done something right. There are times when i have been told that i am either (a) too lenient with the kids or (b) too strict with them or sometimes a combination of both a and b. How one can be too lenient and too strict at the same time is beyond me though?

My parents were visiting for a week and we celebrated their 35th wedding anniversary.  Needless to say, Vidyuth and Vishruth loved every minute that they spent with their grandparents. Yesterday, due to a sudden turn of events…my parents and Guru (as a last minute addition, the kids) all left for Chennai. In a matter of 1/2 and hour my place went from being a full house to an empty house. Vidyuth and Vishruth did seem cheerful when they left, they were excited at the thought of an impromptu trip. Of course they did not leave until they were assured that i will not be afraid and that i will definitely miss them etc.

Within the next couple of hours, i got a call from Guru saying that Vidyuth is literally bawling his eyes out as quote [he should not have left me all alone in the house, it was not right of him, at least he should have stayed back] unquote. Apparently he had also insisted that they turn back right away and get back home and they can drive back the next day with me. Vishruth took the cue from his brother and told me as much. In fact Vidyuth and Vishruth insisted that i take the scooter and drive down to Chennai immediately and that they will wait for me. They also made sure that i was not working late, that i had my dinner and that i have locked the doors.

There are various other instances when they both have behaved mature for their age, they are considerate, kind and thoughtful – like telling us that they do not want any gifts for their b’day and they want to help out people in need……only to fight for a small pencil or eraser the next minute. They both are extremely active children, boisterous even but overall they both are amazing children. So, what did we do to result in these amazing children? Destiny?…luck?…coincidence?… Almighty’s blessings?…..Not sure… Maybe its all of the above, I have no idea but all i know is they inspire me to be a better person…for lack of better words, taking the help of Relient K

If anyone could make me a better person, you could All I gotta say is I must have done something good You came along one day and you rearranged my life All I gotta say is I must have done something right

Guru always feels that children when not pressurized by worldly expectations,actually begin to enjoy their childhood and as parents, the one thing we can absolutely do is to “Let them be.” I agree. We just need to let them know that we will be there for them no matter what and we will always be the cushion (not a thorn) where they can land safely. Of course, what works for us and our kids will definitely not work for others and vice-versa. In fact, most of the time i feel like i am cooking with my eyes tied and i am happy if the meal is just passable. And when i the outcome is a gourmet meal, i feel like a million bucks. Yesterday and today was one of those days and I am grateful for that moment.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Carnic says:

    Touche’

Leave a Reply

