Follow Your hEaRt!!!

There are good and gr8 days and then there are days where you feel like ripping your hair out…….Nothing makes you feel worse, insulted even when you find out your trust and integrity has been questioned and that the very qualities that you value most and is quintessential YOU  has been under a scanner. The only silver lining was support in the form of an amazing spouse and great friends who immediately sensed something was amiss. What would you have done without them??

Anyways, the point of this post being, why does one have to follow the norm always? For example, I am trying to live life to the fullest, follow my heart and  always expect the unexpected………… For us, life is not about the money we make or the kind of house we live in but more about being content with the choices we make. So I chose to give up my career as an urban planner to be a stay-at-work-from-home-mom in a field that is not remotely connected to what I trained for. But I have never been so much at peace with what I do and how I do it……………my work schedule allows me to be home when my kids are back from school, I discovered my passion for photography and I am finally back into a good fitness routine :)) That’s not to say I don’t fall sick, yes, I fall sick often and am trying to get myself and my heart stronger but I am also able to find innovative ways to make my day go relatively easier, whatever that means. Is it working for me? …YES, and it is working for my family too.

But it is not without its difficulties, every move on your part requires a lot of discipline and proper planning. You need to set proper boundaries and respect them so that others will respect and be wary of those limits. What works for you necessarily might not work for someone else and might even be viewed as a bad move from your part. The brickbats and the snide remarks will follow soon after. But if you are convinced of what you are doing and you have your priorities in line, then nothing else matters.

I particularly liked and loved this song for all that it conveys related to whatever I have been trying to say……….Saadda Haq, Aithe Rakh from the movie Rockstar

The hEaRt in my title just means that try to make use of the god given ears – what you hear through one, leave it out the other and adapt the “Lotus Leaf” approach………listen, observe, love, laugh but finally don’t let it absorb you or control you

Lotus leaf
Be like the Lotus Leaf

” One who performs his duty without attachment, surrendering the results unto the Supreme Lord, is unaffected by sinful action, as the lotus leaf is untouched by water.”


— Bhagavad Gita 5.10

When I did a quick google search on “Follow Your Heart,” the first link was a wikiHow page with step-by-step instructions on “How to Follow Your Heart.”

Seems pretty easy, doesn’t it……….after all it shouldn’t be that difficult to do what you want to do, to listen to your conscience, to ignore criticism, to stand up for oneself and to not be afraid to stand out…….. 

But it is exactly as difficult as it sounds…….but is WORTH IT ALL at the end!!!

Leave a Reply

